The countdown to Eid has started for me...but more importantly this Ramadan is that I have decided to give up drinking for the whole of the month. I am not doing it so much out of respect for my fellow fasters...but more because it is detox and I want to see if I have the ability to do that. Don't get me wrong I am not an alcoholic, but I enjoy my glass of wine/gin and tonic/Mexican beer...also I guess it is a bit out of respect. I have Christian friends who don't drink during Ramadan, so you would think that a born Muslim would at least attempt it!
I heard the strangest comment last night, a group of people were sitting having a drink and talking about what they are going to do this Ramadan, and one of them stated-loudly or how else would I have heard it-that he plans to have a drink just before Iftar today, and if anyone wants to join him. Now how rude and unneeded is that?!?!? Especially to say it out load, in a public place. No wonder people get violent sometimes, I mean even me who doesn't believe in any of this wanted to get up and slap him a few times. I have no problem with people drinking, but there is NO need to make it such an obvious statement, sit at home, text/call your friends, and invite them over for a pre-iftar drink!
Anyway so that we don't end this post on a negative note,
I wish all those who are fasting a Ramadan Mubarak.
All those who are forced to fast a Ramadan Mubarak.
and all those who are not fasting a Ramadan Mubarak.
Enjoy the tents, and enjoy the Mint Tea!
No comments:
Post a Comment