
Valentine's Day is like herpes: just when you think its gone for good, it rears its ugly head once more. No wonder some people prefer to call it VD.
I am sure we are all aware of what today is: Valentines Day!!!
I am not a big fan of this day, yes and am single, but today on the radio while going to work I again reaffirmed my dislike for this day. on Sawt al-Gad radio station, they had dedicated the morning show for people to call in and to announce their love for someone. So they poor guy called Mike calls in and asks the woman on the radio to call this girl that he likes and to tell her...LIVE...that he is in love with her. So radio woman calls this girl, who is going into her lecture, the girl is obviously surprised and is told on NATIONAL RADIO...that one of her friends is in love with her...she is so oblivious of this fact...only to tell all of Jordan that she sees him only as her friend-sorry-best friend!!!! I felt so bad for this guy, who because of this day felt that he MUST profess his love for this girl...I guess it is kind of his fault he didn't have to do it on the radio, but that is the point, Valentines day seems to force people to act in a way that really is not them...he could have told this girl in private how he felt. I am sure he had thought about telling her before, but knew that she would say they are only friends, but because of V-day, his hopes seem to have risen, he ginuenly believed that if he did it via this medium that she would what...fall to her knees and realise that she is madely in love with him.
Please don't get me wrong, I am not attacking this guy, or what he did, but I was upset that he got so humiliated...I know that love hurts, but really it is not supposed to make you feel like shite! I am a romantic, and you would thus think that today would be my favorite day, but I hate it, it makes people feel obliged to act and say things, that really they should not be forced into doing. I don't want someone to tell me they love because, because the calender tells them to! No I would rather have them tell me on some other day, on a day where I would not be expecting it, where finding flowers on my office desk, or a box of chocolates on my door step, would put a smile on my face...rather then me picking them up and continuing with my day. A friend of mine today was talking to me, and telling me that he was thinking of gong back or recontacting an ex because he heard that she might be getting engaged. The last time this friend talked about this particular ex, all he could say aobut her was that she is boring, not really his type, and didn't know how he could have stayed with her so long...yet now all of a sudden-VD-he is thinking that maybe she is the woman of his dreams...that he should not have left her blah blah...I mean honestly, any other day and he would never have had these thoughts...and I am sure that tomorrow he will be like, hmm...wonder what I was thinking???
I am telling you, today makes single people feel like they have some sort of diease, that they have never been loved, or even worse that they will never be loved...the worst thing thought is that I have noticed that my male friends dont seem to be that effected by the day. Someone should do a study on this fact, why is it that the single women that I know today feel like crap, while the single men I know go around with no bad feelings what-so-ever-well except for the friend mentioned above-could it be because more women like chocolate than men??? Or maybe I should just be like them...and not care...
Could it be that your 'friend' was voicing something that's been on his mind for a while and more importantly, listening to something from within. He, your friend, could have been threw some major changes than he last broke with with Lizzy Boredom, from here on, and that it's been so long he remembers her positive sides? I mean come on, this friend sounds great or is it just me? Point it, I don't think VD was a catalyst but just coincided with HAPPY TUESDAY. Just food for thought P....
ReplyDelete