I have just gotten my iPod Nano, and am very excited about it-it really is quite tiny, sorry but I was surprised how tiny it was. I had the iPod mini before, and I completely fell in love with it. It made my trip on the London Tube so much more pleasent, trips on the bus, on the plane...just became a joy. I loved going out for walks in Edinburgh-where I was for university-and kind of making a soundtrack for each day. I had broadband in the UK, so I was able to download all sorts of music and thus kept my ipod updated with all the stuff that I like old and new. But when I first got to Amman I didnt have broadband, and so was forced to listen to the same music for over three months. Finally now my torture is over and I can enjoy new music again.What I don't like about the ipod, is exactly that, you get bored of your music. Changing the song is so easy, all you have to do is swirl around for a bit and click...new song...while before when I had a Diskman (why wasn't it called Discwoman?) you would have to stop, pull out the new cd you wanted to hear and blah blah takes ages, and how annoying was it when you only wanted to hear one song on this new cd???? But you would enjoy it even more somehow.
I miss those times when I didn't have the iPod and I would sit listening to the radio, and there would be rubbish on, but I would hold out...and then your song would come on...and boom you jump up, top volume and you start dancing around your room/house...to the annoyance of my parents (who ended up memorising all my favorite songs because of this policy). Even better, you are in your car, stuck in traffic-I drove in Beirut so I know what it feels like to be stuck for HOURS with the dude in the car next to you reading his newspaper!-and you are listening to the radio, and you are putting up with all the tripe that comes on...and then it comes...the song...the one and only song for that specific mood you are in...and you blast the music...and start singing at the top of your voice!!! What am amazing feeling...how much I miss that...really enjoying a song, because you knew that the next one will be horrible again...and then you wait and wait...and another 'perfect' song comes on and your pleasure is orgasmic!
Mabrook the Ipod Lulwa : )
ReplyDeleteI know what you feel about your favourite random song comes on the radio & how is that much beautiful than having all your favourites on the memory chip of the nano. I totaly agree with you & thats why I still prefer the radio up to now.
In speaking about the traffic, I hate traffic and believe me no one can see a worse traffic in the whole world, as worse than Dubai-Sharjah traffic in UAE. I live 20% of my life here driving :)
Wow, cool post. I'd like to write like this too - taking time and real hard work to make a great article... but I put things off too much and never seem to get started. Thanks though. smlite
ReplyDelete