30 March 2006

Lad Culture


In Britain they call a certain sort of guy/dude/boy/man a lad.
I was reading an article in the Guardian today that deals with the new ads being put on British TV, they deal with date rape. Lad culture corrupts men as much as it debases women, where the author is saying that these ads are not going to be very effective because of the lab culture, and the kind of magazines that they are reading and advice they are getting.
The ads supposedly-I obviously have not seen them-have a picture of a woman's crutch wearing skimpy underwear and a no entry sign. Already is I think is a bit rubbish, since as the article states, it might make sense to these executives in the Home Office, bas to a bunch of lads its just a picture of a woman's crotch!!!! The slogan is even better if you ask me, "If you don't get yes, you don't get sex" how simplistic and naive is that? I think its great that the British government is working to try and end this horrendous crime, but I also think that one needs to look at the British culture in general-and maybe all cultures-where as the article so perfectly says that the young men don't know how to deal with women they are: "someone old enough to have wildly insistent sexual urges, but too young to have developed the emotional sense to know how best to deal with them; old enough to have heard of feminism, but too inexperienced to know whether this means that holding doors open and basic chivalry are no longer required."
This means that for us to really end date rape, rape in general, men have to start to reevaluate how they view the women around them. Where even if the lads are drunk and horny and a woman is dressed sexually, that does not mean that these women are saying come and get it. Lads magazines seem to be pushing men to act a certain way, they give advice to men, they say things like " Fingers, elbows, shoes and anything else pointy pointing at you? She likes you. She plays with her hair? Even better. She comes home with you? Result. She says no? She's playing hard to get. She says no again? She doesn't want to come across too easy. She says no a third time? What are you, a man or not ... take control of the situation, she'll love that."
I for one can't say for sure that this is what Lad culture is about-since I am not a man-and maybe some comments will explain this better-but I really do think that there must be an element of truth in what this article is saying. Maybe the young men of our generation, are just unsure how to deal with the new woman, and maybe because they feel as if they are losing the control that traditionally they had on the women in their lives, they end up feeling that they need to 'show these women' even if this is on a sub-conscious level. I am not sure, but I do know that rape is not about sex it is about power, it is about the fact that you can over-power someone-in this case women-and force them to do what you want.

Funny Story 2

We have all heard the saying "kissing ass" and variations on it, bas I have heard the most bizarre one. My friend was telling me this story, he has just gotten back from the UK after finishing studying there, well not just bas waevar. So he shipped his stuff over from London to Amman, and had to go to the Jamarik to pick em up and clear them. So he is standing there, while they look through the DVD's and stuff...then he is looking around only to see the following scene: there are group of GROWN UP JORDANIAN MEN talking to each other, when one bends down and kisses the ass of the other!!!!!!!!! The guy who's ass was kissed looks back, and just smiles...lol. How fucking hilarious to be standing there and seeing this happening in front of your eyes IN AMMAN...I could not believe it when my friend told me, but he swore it was the truth. I mean these men standing in customs with all these boxes and people walking around and one bends down KISSES the others ass...sorry...bas its just impossible to get the image out of my head.

Kissing

I currently have a crush on someone-HUGE SMILE-and I am on cloud nine. I love the feeling of liking someone, and he is just really quite funny, smart, talkative, and extremely politicized. The only thing that might be a problem-and I am sure you all knew that there would be one-is that he does NOT smoke! I am a smoker...and herein lies the issue...would he be willing to kiss a smoker? Now, I have been told by people who don't smoke that they don't want to kiss an ashtray, and that is why if they date a smoker (and most wouldn't) the other would have to give up smoking. Take the case of Carrie in Sex and the City, she had to give up smoking when she started dating Aidan, because he just could not or would not kiss her. Al he would rather lose the girl...I mean honestly...how ridiculous...so I guess I am worried and it too soon to go asking this dude if he would kiss a smoker or not...ya3ni would give away the fact that I fancy him...bas please all keep your fingers crossed that my Mr. Big-just kidding-will either become a smoker, or not be so closed minded and actually enjoy kissing an ashtray...lol!!!

29 March 2006

Shooting Dogs


I worked that the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, in 2001-2002, and thus have formed a very strong bond/attachment to the events that took place during the genocide. Last year the talk was all about Hotel Rwanda which was a brilliant movie-and even more exciting for me since I worked on that case while in Tanzania which is where the tribunal is placed. Now there is a new movie out, and it looks even better then Hotel Rwanda-if that is possible. I saw the trailer for Shooting Dogs, and can't wait for it either to hit the cinema here in Amman-I hope that will happen-or for me to head downtown and get a copy.
The images and the stuff I read while working as a legal assistant to one of judges in the tribunal was truly mindblowing, to see and hear about people being macheted to death is the worst thing I have ever heard. Somehow it seems more violent then shooting someone, since you don't need to have direct physical contact with a person to shoot, bas to stand over them and hit them with a machete, I don't think I have ever felt that kind of hatred. I was using Larium at the point-anti-malaria medicine-and on my Larium nights, when I would have stayed up late reading a witness testimony that needed to be summarised for my judge, I would end up having the worst dreams. Watching my parents getting macheted while I was hidden under a chair or in a cupboard, it was the Israeli in the case of my parents, bas still it was very traumatising.
Go see the trailer, read the article and inshallah we will get to see it at the cinema, and maybe we'll learn from mistakes we humans have done to each other.

Not into you

I don't know if you have heard of this book. He's just not that into you, by the people who wrote some episodes of Sex and the City. The whole point of the book is that women need to realise that if a guy fancies you, then you will be in no doubt about it. As in even if he has an early meeting, and you ask him to come in-ok not likely to happen in Amman bas you get my drift-HE WILL. If he does not then there is not other reason then that HE IS JUST NOT THAT INTO YOU!
If a guy likes you, I mean really likes you, then he will ask you out. The reasons and excuses that women come up with are amazing: "he doesn't want to ruin the friendship;" "he is shy;" "he's just coming out of something;" but this book tells you, that men find it satisfying to get what they want. "If we want you, we will find you. If you don't think you gave him enough time to notice you, take the time it took you to notice him and divide it by half."
The one that I use exclusively when I am worrying and analysing with my friends about some guy or other, is the "he doesn't want to ruin the friendship" and when I read what they had to say about it, I was flabbergasted:
"I hate to tell you, but that whole "I don't want to ruin the friendship" excuse is a racket. It works so well because it seems so wise. Sex could mess up a friendship. Unfortunately, in the entire history of mankind, that excuse has never ever been used by someone who actually means it. If we're really excited about someone, we can't stop ourselves — we want more. If we're friends with someone and attracted to them, we're going to want to take it further. And please, don't tell me he's just "scared." The only thing he's scared of-and I say this with a lot of love-is how not attracted to you he is."
I absolutely suggest for both genders to read this book. Men need to read it so that they realise the amount of time and energy women put into thinking, analysing, and worrying about them. Women need to read it so that they can just on with their lives. SERIOUSLY!
I always get inspired when I read this book, and the inspiration lasts about two weeks, which is when I need to open it and reread it.

Kalimat

There are a few words in English that I just have started to HATE!
There are different reasons for my hatred, some because people use them a lot and use them towards me and I have started to despise these words. They include things like drama, drama queen, care (I have a friend who uses this word in pretty much every sentence he writes on MSN messenger); only child syndrome (more the one word bas you get my drift); "why so quite" that is the problem with being someone who talks a lot, if you are quite for a second it becomes a national issue.
Others because I think they have no meaning-or more like lost their meaning-and so have become horrid for me: nice, like, awesome, grand-really don't like this word; fucking a.
There are words that I just don't like-for different reasons: time management, blow job, anal-and not in the sexual way bas more people who are anal; fuzzy wazzy.
Then there are some statements, such as, "In my opinion..." and then they trash your opinion or ideas without saying anything valid; "Don't take this personally..." or even worse, "no offense..."and then they say something really hurtful, offensive and personal; "Can't have your cake and eat it" and why not, isn't the whole point of buying/making a cake?; "wearing the trousers in the relationship" my only response, shuv it mate!; "Sho lay darabti booz?" (why are you frowning)-really despise this one!

28 March 2006

Funny Story

My friend just called and told me a funny story.
She is smoker, bas in her office she is not allowed to smoke, so she goes downstairs, right outside the office to have a fag. In front of her office there is a school, an all girls school. And while having a ciggie, she getting hit on by these girls. They tell her that she has a nice ass, they whistle, they make lud gestures and just harassing her. I think that this is so funny, well you have to know this friend, she is one of the most out-spoken people I know, but she never replies to them, and they think she is a foreigner fa ino she does not understand them. Until one day she told them to fuck off-but in Arabic-and since then the comments and gestures have become even more...lol!!!!
What is even better, is that she called to tell me this story so that I would write a post about it, a serious one, bas I just can't stop laughing imagining this situation on the streets of Amman.

Friendships

They are tough, they are complicated and lately they are not going to well.
I have friends who are faraway and I am losing touch with them and this makes me truly sad.
I have friends around me who I am fighting with, and thus we don't or can't talk anymore and that makes me truly sad.
Yet...
I have friends that I am meeting and friendships are developing and that makes me happy.
I have met people who only after a few meetings I feel like I have known them all my life, and I feel truly satisfied by that.
I am re-meeting old friends, who I had lost touch with or who I felt no longer clicked with me, bas who in the end turned out to be the ones who understood me best.
Bas in general, friendships, are tough and complicated when really they shouldn't be.

Honesty

I think there is a point when honesty just becoming meanness.
There is not reason to break someone's spirit, to bring them down to such a level where they start feeling bad about themselves. I think the role of friends, or loved ones in general is to help the person realise something...and then support them while they change, or at the very least attempt a change. I for one don't like people to be extremely harsh with me, I can take criticism and I can take honesty, bas when it makes me feel bad...I just don't want to hear it.

27 March 2006

The Reply

Ok, so a request for a reply has been given twice, and I am not going to bow out or chicken out, even though I really don’t think that this discussion will end here…bas yallah no harm in trying.

The Sandmonkey
Lulwa's Logic

Let's take Hamas for example, shall we? Hamas kept blowing shit up and disrupting shit every single time Fatah moved forward with something. They were the tough guys, the we will destory israel guys. Fine. They won the election, and they still maintain that they want Israel destroyed. Ok, well,that's their right. And It's Israel's right to not give them their money, to lock up their borders and not let them pass through to Israel.

Israel does not have the right to stop funds meant for the Palestinians just because it does not agree with the policy of the ELECTED government. I don’t see the logic, for an OCCUPYING force to have the ‘right’ as you call it to decide when and where it will allow money meant for humanitarian reasons to be allowed in or out of the areas it has forcibly and illegally occupied. Also, I think it is a bit untrue that Hamas ruined things with Fateh was doing so well, if they were doing so well then why in GOD’s name did the Palestinians elect Hamas? Hamas is proving people wrong all the time, they are one of the most pragmatic movements I have ever seen, I am sure that sooner rather then later they will recognise Israel…and I wonder what the Palestinian street will say?


It's also the US and the EU's right to cut off the AID, because, well, it is aid. It's not a right or an entitlement. I agree, without that aid we have ourselves a real humantarian crisis in ghaza, but those people made their choice. They chose Hamas. Fine. With the choice comes responsibility and reprucussions. You can't have your cake and eat it too, and economic sanctions have always been an acceptable form of international pressure to affect policy. And it's not like they want Hamas to step down or anything; they just wnat them to say "we want peace and we don't want Israel destroyed". Hamas doesn't wnat to do that. Ok, fine Hamas, but can you explain to me then why should we support you again? Why would we want you to succeed again?

As you clearly stated, the aid is HUMANITARIAN aid…by definition then it can’t be used as a way to effect policy. That kind of humanitarian aid would that be? Economic sanctions are a completely different things, and we saw well they worked in Libya and in Iraq-where in Libya the policies might have changed toward that west bas there is still internal political repression. In Iraq it didn’t work at all, the people starved but the ‘regime’ was not changed only when the West came in guns blazing.

And I am sorry, the pictures of the kids 5 and 6 year old kids that they brought from kindergardens and had them make a protest where they carried a coffin that portrays the danish flag on it was disgusting. The fact that you are mad at me for displaying the pciture and not mad at them for exploiting the 5 year old children this way says something about your moral judgment. But anyway..

Now seriously, you are just as bad as your so called leftist…it says nothing about my moral judgement, I was not saying that Hamas should do that…or should not do that…I was just saying that showing the pictures…without context was a bit much.

I am opposed to the MB, mainly because there isn't a single terrorist group that made attacks in Egypt in the past 30 years that didn't spring from them. Hell, Al Zawahiri is, or was depending on who tells it, a member of the MB. So yeah, you can imagine why I wouldn't be very happy with them. Not to mention, once they reach power, forget that they leave it. Imagine if the MB wins, and then in the next election the people vote in a secular party, do you think they will just be like "The people have chosen and we will leave the power to those secularists?" Or are they going to be like "This is an islamic country, and we can't allow those secularists to destory that, even if people democratcially voted for them"? Which is closer to reality?

To be honest, and here you might say again that I am being to much of a lefts, bas I don’t think that we can judge what ‘they’ are going to do, before they even get into power. And what is this pacifist attitude, you are telling me that if people decide to get rid of MB or Hamas, and they say NO…people will just sit back and be ah ok…fine…sure not a problem? Maybe I am a bit naive, bas I don’t think so.

And while we are at it, can you explain to me how can we argue with them when it comes to implemnatation of shria laws in our countries if they do win? They will just look you and tell you "God said so. You know better than god?" and anything you may say to them will be ineffective. You can't argue with "cause god said so" for the same reason you can't argue with "Islam is the solution", because what are you gonna say? Islam is not the solution? Ha. That would be a sight to see.

Now here I agree with you, and as a woman and as a feminist, one of my main objections to these sorts of parties, is their disregard for women, and their rights. I starting writing my PhD to see if as a Secular, Palestinian woman I would be willing to vote for these people. And to be honest I wouldn’t, bas I also believe that if we are going to do this democracy thing, then we have to allow stuff like this to happen…we have to experience it…we have to see what will happen…not judge…that is just unfair not only to them-who cares you would say-bas also to us…how can we say we want democracy yet not allow ourselves to experience the good and bad of that?

If the people in my country wnat the MB, then that's fine by me. I am pro demcoracy, even if that democracy brings us to the shit that will be the MB rule. Let them too live with the consequences of their actions. I figure that after 20 years or so they too will be as fed up as the people of Iran are and they will recognize that mixing politics with religion doesn;t work. Sure, in those 20 years I won't be living in my cuntry, cause I am not stupid, but that's also my right.

That is just ridicules, instead of leaving, why not try to change what you don’t like…hate these kinds of comments that our generation of Arabs have, if we don’t like our countries or people then we leave…how fucking stupid???? Rather then plan your life on leaving Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine…stay…change what you don’t like, if we all leave then who will be left? No wonder the Islamists are so powerful, at least they sit it out, deal with the shite and the good.

I am sure you are not going to agree with me, and I don’t know if I made myself clear or not, I am not saying I want these people in power-or not in power…I am just saying that is not correct, unfair, unjust, whatever you want, to discount them…so out of hand…without looking at each case. Lets see what will happen…am I being a softy…an idiot…guess only time will tell, bas I am willing to deal with the consequences and I will stay and try to change whatever I can.

Traffic Lights

I have rented a car...and realise that now I am a TARGET for those idiots-sorry bas they are-who stand at the traffic light to sell flowers, posters, and flags (this I don't get at all). Yesterday I was unlucky enough to be at the front of the queue at the traffic light, I had a ciggie lit and so had the window open, doors locked, and this IDIOT came up to me and was like-"You want posters" (he thought I was a foreigner)-and then winked!!!! So I said-in Arabic-no thank you...but he didn't want to leave..."3arabiya?" I just looked forward and let go of the break a bit to move forward...he moved with me...his friends thought this was fun so they joined him. One asked for a ciggie the other said "you bad woman", why? We will never know.
Now anyone who knows me will know that at this point the smoke was coming out of my ears...and I just wanted to slap them silly. I shut the window and put the music louder...bas did they get the hint...NO!!!
So they stand there-by my window just looking at me and smiling...talking between them and then talking to me through the window. I wanted to SCREAM...bas I decided ok people tell me to ignore...I did...didn't work...was having a bad day yesterday-well this just confirmed it...wanted to drive myself out of JORDAN...bas then the traffic light turned green...my current obsession song came on...and I put myself in an altered state of mind and drove on.

Solutions

I have been thinking about solutions to my anxiety attack yesterday-I went and did my hair-changed the colour and seriously I instantly felt better...am sure if I shaved all my hair I would have felt even better-bas yalla-then I went with my friend to Yoga...ok to be honest turned out the class was canceled bas still...it was the attempt.
So what is my solution-rather then running away I mean-is that I will try to do stuff that I want to do. Or more like just do stuff...rather then sit in my pyramid and 'think' I will get on with it.
I won't go out if I don't feel like it, I will go back to reading books-haven't done that in ages and I really miss that-I used to read every day for an hour before sleep-but since I bought a TV and DVD player-and put them in my bedroom-all I do is watch movies and L word. I will work on my PhD...and I will just not worry about shit if it is not worth it-which I do all the time and its a waste of time and energy.
I will put a happy face on, and just get on with life, because really all one has to do, is put the positive things in one hand and the negative in the other and try to make sure that the positive always out weights the negative. Sounds very flower powery-bas I did it last night and really it made me feel better...I have more positive things going for me in Amman then negative-its a great city full of brilliant people, and I just have to start concentrating on that...no more NEGATIVE!!!!

26 March 2006

Book Signing

Run Lola Run

Well more like Run Lulwa Run...I have always been a runner...I never stick it out...try to find out why? How? When?
Today I came to the realisation that I am just not someone who deals. I never have, and after 28 years of this habit-and according to one friend-people never change-don't think I will be changing anytime soon.
So not dealing-when I finished high school in ACS, I hated Amman, had a three months count down, and was soooooo fucking happy when I was on the plane heading to the UK. Then around august of 2005, I realised that I was not happy-so instead of sitting with myself and figuring out why, what does lulwa do? She packs and by mid-september is back in Amman. I was so happy to be back here-in my house, trying to find a job, being with my friends, meeting new people and seeing new places. Bas now, again I find myself unhappy...why?
Wallah I have no idea...so what is my plan? I wanna leave, maybe coming back to Amman was not the right decision, maybe I need to head back to the UK, or even better go to New York...aw start the immigration procedure for Canada...wallahi ma ba3rif...bas one thing is for sure, I don't see myself actually sitting and trying to see why I am unhappy? For me to think that it might be something wrong with me, not the place, would just make me more unhappy...and why do that when I can just pack and leave, sah?

25 March 2006

Altered State





I like to live in an altered state
it makes me love all the things I hate
I'm happy to be alive
Don't wanna come off to straight laced
I like to put on my happy face
while I cry on the inside.

Is it so hard to be happy,
and I struggle to feel just ok
I need a lift just to get through


Teddy Thompson, Altered State

I am currently going through a one song obsession...Altered state...absolutely amazing...and exactly have I have been feeling lately!

Gogol Bordello


I have just discovered this man-Gogol Bordello-his album Gypsy Punks is quite good...and I knew how to do it I would upload some of songs onto this post...if anyone can help do tell me...bas check him out...he is voice is quite strange...a rougher Mano Chao I guess...the song Start Wearing Purple is AMAZING!!!

The Humour of it all


BBC News today has a story that I could not believe when I saw the link to it on the BBC News Middle East page....Gaddafi gives lessons on democracy.......HAHAHAHAHAHHAHA....In it he tells an audience in New York's Columbia university that: "There is no state with a democracy except Libya in the whole PLANET." He went on to criticize Western democracies as 'fake' and 'farcical'. His reasoning is that his Jamahiriya system gave 'his' people a genuine opportunity to air their views at "people's congresses." Firstly, you are talking to people in Columbia university, and I am not being an elitist or anything, bas ya3ni come on, these are people who are not the stupid or easily lead astray. Second, I have been to Libya and I love the people there barsha barsha-bas who is he kidding-he came into power in 1969 by a military coup and has NEVER faced an election.
He then went on to criticize other Middle Eastern governments and how undemocratic they are...and this man is just funny...and I have always enjoyed listening to him, and watching him. He has gone from being a true Arabist to being all about Africa and wearing African style clothing-ok I know there is nothing called African style clothing since it is a WHOLE continent, bas humour me.
Well that is it really...read it...found it funny...and thought the rest of you might also enjoy:)

Smoking Ban


I have to send my condolences to my friends in Edinburgh-I am truly sorry-today is the LAST day that you can be drinking and smoking in the pubs of Scotland. At 0600 BST on Sunday the ban will be inforced. They will face a £50 fine if they are found smoking in pubs, bars, or even vans and lorries...lol. Scotland will be the first place in the UK to implement this ban. Jack McConnel the PM of Scotland-Labour-has asked the police to be "gentle" with people at the beginning...lol!The Scottish Executive is providing councils with more than £6m over three years to help enforce the ban, including recruiting additional environmental health officers. A supermarket in Scotland-Morrisons-is offering it night staff nicotine patchs-I mean can they be funnier-because it is unsafe for these staffers to leave the building at night.
I am not sure I agree with this ban-as a smoker and someone who lived in Edinburgh and thus KNOW HOW COLD IT CAN GET!!!! Al they say it will improve the nations health-not to sure about that since people will be standing outside with their pints and ciggies and end up with a really bad cold or flu...hmmmm.
I know many friends who will be spending ALL day today at the pub-they open at 12pm-1am in Edinburgh-and I truly wish them a great day of smoking and drinking.
Am so happy to be in Amman!!!!!

24 March 2006

Arab Style


Saw the ad for the Apprentice Arab style-Investor that is airing-or will air-on MBC 1...and just one thing...the majority of the participants are MEN ...except for the token two women-Sawsan and Asia!
Ok so this post was going to be more powerful if I had not gone and researched the show a bit more and found that they had these two women-kind of reacted badly when I saw the ad on MBC and there were no women-which means that two have already been kicked out-bas still thought it was a good thing to point out...lol!
But, I found on Strategy look how the show is being summerised:
"The 'Investor' program, which is the Arabic version of "The Apprentice" and hosted by the Saudi businessman Walid Aljuffali, is about region's young businessmen ideas and ambitions, supporting them to fulfill their potential projects in a competitive atmosphere that would eventually lead to the selection of the best projects to be carried out."

23 March 2006

Jazz Bar

I went to the Kamilya Jubran concert last night at the Al Balad Theatre, and I kind of enjoyed it...well enjoyed the 3oud, bas her voice I could not deal with after an hour. That is when I realised that we need a jazz bar here in Amman. I think I would have enjoyed her music a lot more, if I was not sitting on really uncomfortable chairs, where I was unable to talk to the person next to me, and where I was unable to have a G&T and a ciggie...ha...bas seriously, I really think that we need a jazz bar here, I have always loved them, used to go all the time in London, and Edinburgh. Love the ones that are dark, red walls, little round tables...brilliant.
After her concert we went to Amigo where they had live music also, and I really enjoyed that. I was able to listen to some nice songs-and the best was my friend singing Date Rape for Sublime, love his version even more than the original-I was able to talk to friends, have a drink and just chilax.
Please anyone out there with money to spare and a willingness for this idea...DO IT!
I even know the best place to do this kind of thing. A friend of mine saw it and really thought it would be great palce for a bar and sorry for sharing this idea-bas at least this way it might come true. It's a little house next to Al Balad theater, that is just SCREAMING to be turned into a jazz bar!

Comment on Comments

Reading the comments to my blogs, there have been a few things that I have noticed, people reply in three ways, they either tell me to ignore something, aw they tell me this is the society and you just have to deal, aw even more aggravating they tell me I complain to much. Fair enough maybe I do, bas fuck it, that is part of what a blog is all about-giving me the space to bitch and moan-and for you all out there to read it and tell me to shuv it if you think I should.
Bas really the two that I hate the most are the ignore and this is society-I mean honestly-are we not part of this society, and if there is something that I don't like and I find from this post that quite a few people have noticed and get annoyed by the same things-does that not mean that we can change it? Why should I ignore it? Why should I not complain? How do societies change and develop? sho we wait for the US or UN or NATO to come in and tell us how to be. We bitch and get all hot under the collar when they do come in and ram the change down our throats, bas maybe that is because we are seen as people who don't know what to do...or even worse we are like the Ostrich...see something that we don't like and then under the sand-and we have a lot of that-we go!
We need to become more critical, not just take things and then say "oh well...this is society" roll our eyes, give a little laugh and move on.......NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Fine Ad!


I for one hate to be predictable, and I am sure that a few of you will either tell me to stop complaining or just roll your eyes when you read this, bas waevar!!
Don't know if any of you have seen the new Fine ads that have be showing on pretty much all the Arabic channels. Well I was watching it last night, and I realised that the whole thing was really quite sexist...and well pissed me off.
The ad is all about this girls life, and how in the different stages of it Fine is there to wipe the tears be they happy or sad. Nice thought...good campaign idea bas the ad...nope. Why?
Well first of all, the stages of this girl/woman's life entails the following:
  1. Winning a gymnastic competition
  2. Getting proposed to.
  3. Getting married.
  4. Having children.
So in other words, the Arab woman that is what her life is made of.
There is no tears for when she:
  1. Graduates from university.
  2. When she gets her first job.
  3. Loses money in the stock market.
  4. Starts her own company.
Ya3ni nothing about her career, her life beyond marriage and children, ya3ni even though we are in the 21st century, and Arab woman have gone far in all sectors of life, the main role given to us by society is still daughter, wife, mother.
A friend of mine also pointed out that fact that why is there no ad about men-and how they also shed tears in different points in their life-and I know he was saying this to disprove what I was telling him-it goes to my point even more. Again woman are portrayed as the overly emotional, needing tissues all the time to wipe away the tears when they finally get proposed to-while the man just gets on with life-he asks her for her hand in marriage.
It annoyed me, I liked the idea, the tissues reflecting what is happening in her life, bas I think Fine should rethink the whole thing and include different things from her life. And also have an ad for the men-so my friend doesn't get upset!

20 March 2006

Driving in Amman

I have just rented a car-till I get my license changed from a Lebanese one to Jordanian-and have realised a few things as a female driving here.
First I HATE and let me say this again I HATE those workers who sit in the back of the pickups...they just sit there and STARE like they have never seen a woman drive before-and I realise that they must be bored sitting in the back of that car-bas WTF mate-you don't know where to look anymore, if you look straight ahead you start a competition of looking bas not really looking with them-if you look to the side you don't notice that the Ishara has changed.
Second, I was smoking in my car, and I look to my side, and I see this guy nudging the dude next to him and pointing at me...again WTF mate...sho never seen a woman drive, aw is it that they have never seen one smoke...or even more extraordinary a woman who can drive and smoke a ciggie-I realise that men are unable to multi task bas no need to be amazed at our ability to do that!!!!
Third, I decided to stop on the side of the road to answer my mobile (and light another ciggie)-was being overly cautious-and I look to the side to find three fuckwits cracking up that I would do that...I mean seriously!!!!!

Mothers Day


Tomorrow is Mothers day as well as Palestinian Earth day. So the Arab Protection of Nature, has this campaign in Jordan-don't' know if you saw the ads in all the local newspapers...the point is that you buy a tree-or more-for 3JDs, and you get a certificate to give your mom on her day. The tree is planted in Palestine. I just bought my mom some, and I think you all out there should do that same, make it as part of the gift you give your mom. I think that it is so nice. In the certificate it states how many trees were bought in her name. (Fa the more you buy the happier she will be)

Arab Group for the Protection of Nature(APN)
Email: agpnature@go.com.jo or info@apnature.org
URL: http://www.apnature.org/
Phone:++9626-567-3331
Fax:++9626-562-4424
Mobile:++96279-6559152

19 March 2006

The Long Ride Home

I sometimes wonder what goes through people's minds.
The best is when they are sitting looking out a window...I always wonder what could they be thinking...and then I try and imagine...thinking they have work bokra...that they are happy...that they are sad...that they want to have sex...what?
The worst is wondering what friends are thinking...you know so much about them, so you would think that it would be easy to figure out what goes through their minds.
Bas knowing how my mind works, I realise that it is really an impossible thing.
Anyway, I would love to be able to go into their minds, and see...there is this game in Disney World-Florida-where you sit and then on the screen they shrink you and through an injection they put you into the bloodstream of someone, and you get to swim around in this little space ship thing...would love to be able to do that in my friends heads-sorry friends!!!!
I used to love this cartoon on TV, where it shows you how the body works, and there are all these little people, wondering around your body being the red blood cells, aw the white ones, and watching them attack bacteria or a virus...funneh shite! In the brain there is this old man with a beard he is the one incharge of the brain...making sure all is working well. Its a bit sexist since what if it is a women's mind? I don't want an old man there...think mine is a unicorn...lol...trotting around pushing the button to Lulwa's logic!

Car Ride

Last night, my friends and I came back from the best weekend in Aquaba...we stayed at the Coral Beach-Royal Diving Club-and really it was the most relaxing weekend. We snorkeled...and I saw the most amazing fish...the kind of colours that have been blended together...wow...the pinks, purples, greens, mind blowing. Watching the divers swimming under us, touching the fish, and then the bubbles that coming up from them...looked so pretty under water...I feel in love. I have always loved swimming and fish, wanted to be a mermaid when I was younger-fav Disney movie is The Little Mermaid-I have decided to complete my scuba license.
The weekend was exactly what we all needed, a lot of sun, I have gone from yellow to brown in just a matter of two days, and it feels strange to look down at my hands now...feels that they are dirty...keep needing to use wet wipes...lol.
The food...yum yum yum...Ali Baba-the lobster-flippen hell my mouth is watering just thinking of it. I mean I went to Sri Lanka, and had lobster there, bas what I tasted yesterday in Ali Baba was just SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much better...tender and sweet.
Just a perfect weekend.

The Brain

Isn't it awful when you are trying not to think about something, and then you realise that you aren't thinking about it-and smile about how amazing you are not to be thinking about it...only to start thinking of it-and analysing why you weren't thinking about it?? So fucking annoying...

15 March 2006

ponder...pondering...

After having resigned three days ago, and sitting in a big house all on my own...these questions start to take up my time:

  1. Who was the first person to say, "See that chicken there... I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes outta it's bum"?
  2. If quizzes are quizzical, what are tests?
  3. Why do the Alphabet song and Twinkle Little Star have the same tune?
  4. Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out"?
  5. Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're both dogs?
Ponder away:)

My Homour!

If someone stabs you from behind,
know that someone is
standing behind you!!!!

Whats brown and sticky?
A stick!!!!

What yellow and can go through a wall?
An invisible Banana


What's a red splash on a wall?
A tomato that thought it was the banana!!!


Why did the chicken fall off the fence?
Because the fence ended!!!


Something...bas what...

Akh akh....sho life is tough!!
Ya Hasra 3ala joz Nasra!
Akh Ya Albi!

Want something good/exciting to happen...bas what...Allah alone knows...sho I hate days like today!

Behind....

There is an article in the Guardian today, that is quite interesting, entitled, Behind every Great Male Writer...The story starts with the fact that Dan Brown-author of Da Vinci Code-stated that his wife helped him in the writing of the book. "Brown's wife, Blythe, has been doing much of his work for him. While Brown has been busying himself with writing chapters one-and-a-half pages long, Blythe has been ploughing through complex reference books, marking up key passages, and crisscrossing the internet in search of information that might help her husband." The article goes on to list the number of male authors that have admitted that their wives helped them in the writing procedure,Wordsworth, Nabokov, Carlyle, and, Dick Francis, to name but a few.
It is quite obvious that the personal life of authors is very important for them to be able to write well. Some of wives didnt so much help with the writing or research but they were the ones who made sure that household were running smoothly, "
sometimes a wife's contribution has simply been to smooth the life around her husband as much as possible, clearing the way for him to work, undisturbed," aw they stood between their husbands and the fans, or media.
Not all wives, though, have been content to take such a docile back seat: Jane Carlyle, an intellectual and charismatic woman in her own right, found herself having to keep the "bores" and fans away from her husband Thomas as he wrote out his research. According to Professor Rosemary Ashton, Jane "became increasingly bitter and resentful of this role, though obviously it hugely helped her husband".
Other authors, Ted Hughes, Fitzgerald, DH Lawrence, used their wives-and the problems of marriage or their high-strung wives-to write. In the case of Hughes, his wife the GREAT Sylivia Plath, played a huge role in what he wrote in his poetry.
This all goes to show much a role women have been playing behind the scenes in the success of their husbands, the wives, sisters, daughters, end up being the author's typist, proofreader, editor, agent, business manager, chauffeur and, somewhat intriguingly, the person who would cuts up the food for them at every meal.
Without a doubt the most extreme example of this sort of arrangement, is that of Henry Gauthier-Villars. He was a hugely famous French critic in the early part of the 20th century. His most famous work was probably the Claudine series, which he published under his pseudonym, Willy. These turned out to have actually been written by his young wife, Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, who Gauthier-Villars would lock in a room until she had written the requisite number of pages. She soon divorced her husband and became a celebrated author in her own right of books.
Occasionally, it is husbands who have provided support to their writing wives. Leonard Woolf is widely credited for creating a sufficiently comforting atmosphere in which his wife Virginia could, find enough solace to write. GH Lewes also used to fetch books for his wife, George Eliot, from the libraries as she feared being sneered at outside, due to their marriage not being legitimate.

14 March 2006

Modi

I just finished watching a movie about Amedeo Modigliani, the movie is really amazing, named after him, and it shows his life a year before he passed away. I discovered this amazing painter a few years ago, and just feel in love with the way he painted his woman. The long faces, and just the look of sadness in some of them. The one that I really love is Woman in Algeries.



But what is amazing about this man is his life. The way he lived his life, I would love to be like him, just free, do what I want, how I want. He really was a free spirt...got himself into a lot of trouble, and his lifestyle of heavy drinking and smoking, killed him in the end. But his short life-he died when he was only 36-was full...he got to paint amazing painting, live in one of the most amazing cities in the world-Paris-during the time when artists such as Picasso, Utrillo, Jean Cocteau, Soutine where also there. He also got to fall in love and be loved by a woman, who ended up committing suicide that day after he died-ok she killed their unborn baby and I'm not sure I like that, but still...to love someone so much that you can't imagine living a day without them...wow!!!
I really don't how to explain it, I just got so inspired by him, I wish I could paint, that I could creat such amazing pieces of work that many years after he died people still know him, talk about him, make movies about him. Supposedly on Picasso's death bed, he whispered Modigliani's name.

Talking 'bout a Revolution



I am sitting at home, watching Aljazeera and what is happening in Jericho, and the Israeli bombardment of the jail there, to arrest the head of Al Sha3bieh...and my birthday happiness has pretty much disappeared.
The point is that I watch this stuff and just get very depressed, I always think that the situation couldn't possibly get any worse, and I keep getting proved wrong. I mean how can it continue to spiral downhill, and how is it that the world is just standing by? Fuck the world, why are the Arabs standing by? I don't' understand!
Last night, my friends and I were talking about this, is it in our culture to be so passive, or is it that we are so oppressed? I am more of the belief, that it is not our culture, I mean look at what happened after the Danish cartoons were published, we obviously have the culture and the ability to revolt. It must be because people are to oppressed, I mean how can a someone who is not given the real space to express herself think about revolting? What is more, there is no middle class, and if one is to follow Marxist theory, we need that class to actually think and then push for a change. The elite are to happy in the status quo, and the working class are to busy trying to make sure that they have food at the end of the day. I mean my friends and I can sit and talk about this till our faces turn blue, but we are part of the elite I guess, and what would we really benefit from forcing a change.
Wallah I don't know, all I know is I am quite down, and seem to be reaching the point of losing my hope, and my belief that everyone wants thing to change, that people are willing to risk everything to do that. I look at my parents lives, and what that generation believed in, what they did, and I am gutted that our generation-which has had more opportunities and greater chances-just doesn't seem to have the guts, the will, nor the ambition.

13 March 2006

Fumbling Towards Ecstasy

I am turning 28 tomorrow-March 14-I love my even years...they always seem to be better then the odd ones. Have no idea why, maybe it is just a thought I decided when I was younger, and then kind of convinced myself of it, and so now think that it is a fact.
I find that just before one's birthday its the best time for a person to recount what they did and didn't do the year before and to be happy about what they accomplished and to work on what they still wanna do. I find this a better time to do this then lets say New Years...so having looking back on this year, I find I have actually done quite a bit.

I decided to leave the UK and come back to Amman. I found a job, and started making my own money, saw what am amazing feeling it is that first time you go to the cash point and withdraw your first tenner knowing that its not from your parents bas yours...that you worked hard for it. I have met amazing people here in Amman, people that I have grown to really love and enjoy their company. I have also realised that not 'anyone' can or should be allowed into my life, and that its fine to think like that, normal even. I have also found that as I have grown older, I care less and less what people think or say about me, who cares, why bother is what I think. While when I was younger I used to obsess about what people thought, and wanted everyone to like me. As Sarah McLachlen says:

All the fear has left me now
I’m not frightened anymore

It’s my heart that pounds beneath my flesh

It’s my mouth that pushes out this breath
Yet there are things that I still wanna do. My dream is to be the first women (or Arab woman) Secretary-General of United Nations, I thought that I would have done that by now-actually I thought that I would have done that when I was 25. I have just resigned from my job-yesterday-and now am looking for something else to do. I always wanted to bungie jump, I wanna wear a bikini and not hate myself in it. I wanna stop being a worrier-staying up late thinking about things and rethinking about them. Bas what I really really wanna do is to be content with what I have. No not content bas truely happy. I wanna be able to say to myself many years from now that I don't regret anything I did, that if I had to relive my life I would live it the same way. My father always tells me that and it is the one statement that makes me the proudest of him.
I guess I still have a way to go-and thank god for that, how boring would the rest of my life be if I had done everything already-but doing this once a year, is also good for me. To rethink ones life (every aspect of it) every once in awhile I think is very healthy, and very important. That way you never lose track of where you wanna go and what you need to do to get there.

12 March 2006

The Scream of the Butterfly

Meeting guys is a hard thing to do here in Amman, one way to get around that I have found is to be introduced to a friend of friends. It always seemed to me to be the safest bet, since if you are friends with A and they are also friends with B, then that must mean that B is a good person. Now don't know if this is a case of Lulwa's logic gone wonky again, but should I not take for granted that if I trust someone and they trust someone that I should trust person 3? Hehehehe...can see you all going HUH?
Ok...let us take a scenario...you are friends with Fat7i, you get a long really well, he is funny, intelligent, has a good job, makes good money, is trustworthy, confident, and just a plain good guy. On a certain night, you are out with Fat7i and he introduces you to Ra2fat, and since Fat7i is so great...you assume that Ra2fat is as well.
Bas we all know what happens when you assume...you make an
ass out of you and me!!!
So you are sitting chatting away to the Ra2fat dude, he is quite funny, and quite cute and seems interested...so you are happy assuming-again-that all is well...only to later find out he:

  • Has a girlfriend
  • Thinks women who stay out past 10:30 pm are sluts
  • Thinks women who wear short skirts are prostitutes
  • Tells you that he will take you home only to drop you in the middle of the street at 1 am.

So Ra2fat is a twat, but then one has to think what does it mean in regard to Fat7i...I mean mish the saying goes, you can tell a lot about someone by his/her friends...or something along those lines...what is one to think of Fat7i if he has a friend who is so fucking stupid? Does it not mean that he is also a bit of twit...or why else would he be friends with someone like that?

Also what chance do single young women like me have to meet someone in this great city of ours, if I can't depend on my male friends to introduce me to nice, eligible men. I mean seriously I have heard some bizarre stories from friends, who have been introduced to guys by male friends (who tell them that this guy is so your type) only to meet some of the worlds most-well to put it mildly-assholely guys ever! Guys who are either too old, too young, too boring, too vulgar, too nice, too sweet, just too wrong.

I also think that since I introduce my male friends to great women, that this treatment should be reciprocated...bas this is not what is happening...it seems that male friends actually enjoy introducing me to the sort of men that they know with 100% certainty that I won't be interested in.

11 March 2006

Lying Style

While reading through my monthly 7JD purchase of Glamour, I stumbled across an article that made me think...yeah if you can believe that is possible from Glamour! In it, we were given four statements, and you choose that one that applies to your lying style, its supposed to be one of those find out what your fibs say about you. Anyho, the four options were:

  1. I'd tell a friend they look great, even if they didn't, so to save their feelings.
  2. I'd pretend I'd done exciting things at the weekend to impress my colleagues.
  3. If I didn't know the answer to something, I'd rather make it up than admit ignorance.
  4. I'd blame someone else at work for my mistakes to make myself look better.
They then gave names to each-The Diplomatic Liar, The Ambitious Liar, the Blagger, and finally The Malicious Liar.
So after thinking about for a millisecond, I confessed to being number 3, The Blagger...bullshitter in other words. I know that about myself from quite a while, and if any of you know me, then you would have guessed it was that one, before I just declared it.
So blagger's, are bright, articulate people, which is why our lies are so convincing-am loving the article till now...then it goes downhill...turns out I lie because I have low self-esteem and lie to gain popularity...hmmmmm...then it goes on to give us advice "Truth Time". The trick is to know your limits: we all bluff but stop if you find your lies getting more elaborate" Dr. Gill says "Ask yourself, why?" LOL
I then went on the ever trustworthy Google, and put in blaggers, and pressed I'm Feeling lucky, I was sent to Dementlieu Punk Archive, where this is a band from 1988, that was called Blaggastyle! They were a openly left wing, anti-fascist skinhead band. Then I went to Wikipedia, and found words that mean the same thing, BullShit, Tall tale, HorseShit, Gobbledygook, Hogwash, and Gibberish, to name just a few. Then there was the book-which I own-called On Bullshit, by Harry Frankfurt, in it he states that the liar knows and cares about the truth and intentionally goes out of their way to mislead, while the bullshiter does not care about the truth and is only seeking to impress!! He fixes the blame for the prevalence of bullshit in modern society upon anti-realism and upon the commonality of situations in which people are expected to speak or have settled opinions without knowing what they're talking about.
Does this mean that blogs are the heaven of Blaggers? I for one would agree with that, and am proud of being part of the blagger blogs!!!

09 March 2006

Women and Toilets

After being in Amman for over 6 months-OH MY GOD-I have come to the conclusion that once a woman leaves the house/office/bar/restaurant, she has not choice but to hold 'it' in till she gets to the next destination. I am being serious. I have had two such experiences during my time here.
The first one was a few months ago, me and two male friends of mine were downtown walking around-one was visiting from Jerusalem-anyho, we ended up in Jordan Bar-very old, and very nice place do check it out-and after drinking a few beers I started to need the lou. So we look around and what I find is a bright red curtain and over it a sign saying: TOILET. So one of my male friends goes and comes back to tell me that I should just hold it in, since the only thing standing between me and the world 'seeing me' is that curtain. I put a brave face on, and hold it in...after nagging my two friends into submission we leave the place. We are on our way home, when they decide that a bottle of wine would be perfect-think we were heading to a party or something-and so they stop and start BROWSING for wine.
At this point we are few seconds from my house and my bladder knows it! And like all these situations, the urge to go increases by 100%. I rush into the petrol station-yes a PETROL STATION-and ask for the toilet. The men all look at each other, and say: Mit2akhed? I just look at them, while I jump from one leg to another...and one points to the back room. THANK GOD THE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING...I don't think I would have gone to the toilet if I had seen the dirt that was on this toilet. After finishing my deed, I walked out and smiled at the men...who all looked at me shyly. I went home and washed my hands in dettol.
You would think I had learned my lesson...bas no...this is Lulwa!!!!
So yesterday I was in Amigo watching the Arsenal vs Real Madrid match, enjoyed myself, and then was heading home with a friend of mine-male-and we stop at Thawaq-great sandwiches-and I again get the urge to go to the toilet...so I look around and find none at this take away place...bas the old man is so nice and so I ask him for the toilet. They are like we have the keys to the upstairs toilets, but where is the guy you came in with...I look at them strangely and ask Why? They say that he should come along and stand outside! I answer with, well you have the key I can lock the door...bas NOOOOOOOOOOOO...so add humiliation to an already uncomfortable situation, I had to go up to my friend and ask him to guard my toilet door...he of course didn't understand why he had to come, bas complied-bless his heart-and so I am in the toilet (which was Arabic style, bless the lord) and he is outside waiting by the stairs...lol!
Don't worry I didn't' eat the sandwich till I got home and used dettol again!
So the moral, we need public toilets, that are clean and that women can use.
And now a Lulwa logic statement:
This is just another way to keep women indoors and not allow them to participate in the public life of this country!

08 March 2006

Reading blogs

I have been enjoying reading different blogs, from the different Arab countries. I especially concentrate on Palestinian and Saudi blogs, since I am half/half...as well as reading Jordanian, my adopted country. It is strange to read these three different communities of blogs. Bas lately I have been finding it hard to read the ones I like from three...not because I don't agree with them...on the contrary I enjoy them so much, but the issues are just so different and so diverse that my dream of Arab unity...and how similar we all are is slowly being eroded.
The Palestinian blogs are all about the occupation and how life is tough under it, I absolutely love Raising Yousuf: A mother under Occupation, I read it daily and find her style of writing and observation amazing. But her post from march 6 I found hard to read. Not because she was writing about the children who were killed-that was sad-but more this sentence: I'’m tired. And mad, at how unproductive being tired can make me, among other things. But mainly, I'’m just tired. Sometimes, it can get exhausting being here. I mean that is just such a sad statement, and yet I think I can understand...no I take that back...how can I possibly understand what she means when I don't live under occupation. Maybe that is the power of the statement is that I can't really understand it, so it touched me!
Then in the Saudi blogs, I read The Religious Policeman. He brings humour to a situation that is really not that funny. In his post about the Riyadh International Book Fair, titled : Just when you thought it was safe he says: So the idea is that she signs the book behind the partition. Presumably you toss a book over, she signs it, and then tosses it back. Sounds fun. Well, Saudi fun. I have been to Saudi, go there quite often, and the idea that there is something that we can call Saudi fun, is just the highest point of fun for me!!!! I hate the Muttawa...have a real fear of them, having experienced their 'wrath' when I was quite young and was not allowed by my mom the feminist to wear the 3abay-even though she did!!!!
Then we get to the Jordanian blogs, and here there are quite a few that I follow, but the one that I really have started to enjoy lately is And Far Away. I love her style writing, and that she writes about a number of things. Her latest one, Alone, and Not I trulyly enjoyed reading, Oddly alone. As odd as each of those letters looks like by itself- a combination of meaninglessness and idiosyncrasy. I like sentences like that...you get the point just by the visualisation.
There are a few Arab blogs, that just get on my nerves, yet I keep going back to them...they are like those crap tv movies that have no real storyline and crap nacting...bas I always watch them...till the end. The same with these blogs.
But back to the point, am not sure if it makes sense-and if we listen to iskandar-my logic does not always makes sense-bas I feel that these blogs from the three countries in the Arab world that I connect to, are so quite different...and thus are we really that similar? Can we really ever unite? Do we really understand each other as much as I thought we did when I was abroad and met fellow Arabs and we just clicked.
Ma ba3rif, but what I know is that reading these blogs in a row has shown me how different we all are, and how we are living such different lives...lives that might be hard for us to conceptualize and truly get...maybe its just me-the true child of parents who love of Nasser-bas I always thought that Arabs were one unit.

Our Day

To all the women of the world, bas especially the Jordanian, Palestinian and Saudi women-hmmm...maybe all the women of this great region, I wish a great day!!!!
Today is for us women to think about what we want from life, and to see if we are on the right path, it is also a day for us to be celebrated, and to think about ways to improve the lives of the women around us.
What is really upsetting me today, is the fact that I usually have something planned, back in the UK, female friends of mine would have dinner at home, and then just sit with bottles of wine and talk to each other...the topics would wind and twist from men, to shoes, to the latest book we have read, to politics...ending with one of them crying or all of us heading out to hit one club or another. But here in Amman, I have nothing of this sort planned...the only thing that I tried to do is go to the Feminine Short Films Festival, being put on at the Balad theatre, since it was about women by women.
Another thing that is upsetting, is the level of ignorance of the women in my immediate circle some seem to know nothing about what today is, what it stands for and why they should be out telling everyone about it.
I sent a message to the women in my life, wishing them a great day...one of the replies I got was..."same to you Ms. Feminist"...and I know my friend meant it in a good way...bas I thought was a stupid way to answer a message like that on a day like today. I guess what is really annoying is that they are well-educated young women...and today is their day...they should be proud...talking about the issues that are of importance to them as women in Jordan...making people aware. To be fair, I got another rely saying "today we're proud to have a pussy!" That's the attidute!!!!!
IWD is about making people aware...making people talk...there are so many issues in Jordan that are still pending when it comes to women...from right of nationality, to the violence directed towards women, to the idea of quotas or not quotas in elections...the list is endless.
We need to activate this day in this country. I just checked out the web-page made for IWD I saw that there are events being put in the Emirates and YEMEN...yet nada in Jordan!!!

07 March 2006

Palestinian Artists

Palestinian graffiti on the wall of injustice!






Women Drivers


I have decided that its not that women are bad drivers, bas more like men are rubbish at driving.
If you think about it, women have to drive on the same streets as men, and so have to lower their standards of driving so as not to show up men-since male egos are so fragile as we all know-and also we have to become crap drivers so as to survive on the streets where men are the majority and are such rubbish at it. Seriously thing about it, in a democracy the minority have to put up with the decision of the majority, same on the streets, since women are still in the minority of drivers, we have to put up with the majority.
I see how men drive...in between the lanes, don't look...just come out of side streets (think they own I guess), drive really close to other cars. The classic male driver, gets upset if someone over takes them, fa they decide to compete with them-big ego again!!!!
The only concession I am willing to give on this topic is the driving of veiled woman...sorry, but I agree they are not very good...not sure what it is about...bas they are just crap drivers!!!!

05 March 2006

Chinese Style

LOL...please look at the guy in front...he is BRILLIANT!!!!


Borders

Last night it took us around 7-8 hours to get from Beirut to Amman. Our trip to Beirut only took us 5 hours, nice and comfortable...but coming back everything that could go wrong...well did.
First we got delayed at the Syrian borders, for a reason that I am still not quite sure about...could be because our driver had a problem...or that his friend who was in another car driving people to Amman also, was a bit drunk and was being an ass so the Syrian border people were making his life miserable (and ours by connection!)...all I know is that we stood at that border for over an hour.
Then there was the constant stopping at different Istirahat-rest stops-a long the way...around 11ish we finally arrived at the Jordanian border...felt better just crossing the border...thought ah khalas we will be home soon...how wrong was I!!! We get past the immigration, they see our passports, stamp them...joke around with us...we get into the car and head toward customs...here there is a HUGE queue...and it turns out that they had caught people smuggling drugs into the country...or at least that is what the driver said...he then changed the story to : someone had tried to bring in 20 cartons of ciggies (we are only allowed on carton per person)...so not quite sure about the story...anyho...why we wait in the car, a man in civilian cloths comes up and asks to look at our passport...the two Ahmads in the car were asked to come down, and they were taken to this room...now not sure what happened in this room...bas they were back in 15 minutes. Turns out that they were stopping ALL the Ahmads on that day coming into Jordan...and more specifically-so you don't think that they are being unprofessional or wasting people's time-all the Ahmads who had left Jordan on the Thursday! The Ahmads told us that one of the guys who was called in was asked to take off his trousers and his wallet was completely emptied out...how humiliating for him...why should this man be treated in such a brutal way? Also the question presents itself is why the two Ahmads who were from our car were not asked to take their trousers off? (don't get me wrong they are my friends and don't want them to be humiliated) But could it be that they come from certain families, that are known and thus could cause a fuss if they were asked to do this?
Looking around I realised that people were really being searched...this one Saudi car was literally being striped apart...by the time we passed him his back seat was on the sidewalk!!! Don't think he will be coming to Jordan any time soon.
I mean I understand that after what was going to happen in Mecca Mall...its good that they are being so cautions...makes you feel safer-even though I don't know if I agree with that-why would we feel safer if we know that there are people in our country who have the power to do that to people? I for one don't feel safer.

Wired Out!

I just got back from a weekend in Beirut-fun fun fun-and while packing I realised how much I carry with me. I don't mean cloths-that I know I carry a lot of...but gadgets! I have noticed that even though things have been getting smaller-mobiles, ipods, cameras-and we all go out and try to get the smallest the latest in gadgets...one thing that does not seem to get smaller or shorter...are the wires that come with them.
I was packing my suitcase, and as I was taking my, camera, phone and nano with me, I had to make sure that I had the chargers also...how awful to travel and realise you forgot the charger for one of these...and be stuck without a camera when a Kodak moment arises (and these moments always come when your digital has run out of battery)!
So I am packing, and I saw how big and annoying these chargers are, I mean look at the Nano, its TINY...but the charger is double its size...why? Then the phone...cute and small fits in my back pocket-always seem to loose it in my big hangbag-yet the charger could not possibly be lost since it is bulky! Then the worse is the camera one, my camera is quite swanky-ha-and I love it...takes great pictures...makes anyone and anyplace look brilliant...but the charger and the STUPID base that comes with it...is just fucking annoying.
But I love gadgets, and I guess the consequence of that is that I have to carry chargers...would make more sense to make one charger that works for all your little gadgets...ma3gool no one has thought of that yet???

02 March 2006

The Child Within


As we rush thought our hectic days, many of use are so busy being 'grown ups' taking responsibility and fulfilling obligations that we forget there is still a part of us that is essential to our well-being and happiness...the child within! It is my belief that child deserves to be, and should be, acknowledged in order to maintain a healthy balance in our day-to-day lives and also to remind ourselves of the fun and joy that exists in each one of us.
I was watching a group of kids the other day, while waiting for my food at Zuwadeh, and I realised that kids just run around...they don't seem to have a purpose to what they doing...they just run...till they get tired then they stop...take a few breaths...and off they go again...I mean do you get it, they just ran. Not for reason, not because they were trying to loose weight, nor because they were playing a game...nope they did it because they wanted to. As I have grown up I realise that I do less and less things because I just felt like it. I remember when I was a kid and my dad would ask me what are you doing? Or why are you doing that? My answer was also: Mazaj!!! How great is that, to do something not because you are bored, or that you have to, or that you want to, but only because you felt like it...or even better for no apparent reason whatsoever.

I am a true believer in nurturing the child within. My friend wrote me an email today telling me how she gets all excited about slightly childish things, like going to the aquarium to see sharks, watching murder mysteries, playing silly board games...and I was thinking about it, when it comes to this one friend in particular that is one of the things that I most love about her. We do stuff together and its like watching little children...you know how kids get when they first walk into a place, or do something for the first time...the look of amazement and pure disbelief I find to be one of the most beautiful things in the world. I decided quite awhile ago that I would also try and keep that child within me alive, there are chocolates that I eat only because I used to love them when I was a kid-milky way-and I buy the Kinder egg, not so much to eat the chocolate, but to put the toy together, and I keep the ones that I love...and also now collecting sets of them-if you haven't noticed some come in sets of threes-I get so disappointed when it turns out to be one that I have done before, or that it is one that do not need to be put together-that is when I eat the chocolate!!!!
I also love swimming like a mermaid-you know what I mean-love to see how long I can hold my breath under water, and if I can reach the bottom of the pool at the deep end-and of course you have to be competing with someone for this to really nurture the child within!
But seriously, I think everyone should do stuff like that...remember things that they used to love to do as kids, and work on them again...it will really make you enjoy life that little bit more.